ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGHHHHH

2

December 8, 2008 by missmegany

I honestly just don’t know what to do.

Over the past two weeks I’ve been feeling more and more…. well, not alarmist, but getting more and more towards being freaked out.

Why?

I think a lot of it has to do with all of the peak oil and climate change things I’ve been reading. Between the Transition Handbook from the Transitions Towns guy, Sharon’s blog here , info on Peak Oil (even people arguing AGAINST peak oil), the Swedish 2K Watt society, and general climate change info, my head is spinning. I feel like I need to do something drastic, especially because it feels quite lonely. I know that, in reality, lots of people are paying more attention to the environment, making changes in their life, and businesses are catching on. Greenwashing wouldn’t exist if people didn’t want something different. BUT, I’m faced daily with pre-Christmas consumer-mania, co-workers who nonchalantly don’t seem to consider any aspect of their own environmental impact (even the fellow American who throws things in the recycling bin seems to forget about EVERYTHING else that she does), and people who think that “green” living means buying something else that is recycled or organic…

Frankly, I don’t think that peak oil is as imminent as everyone says. Climate change, perhaps. BUT, I do know that oil will one day run out, that our energy use is unsustainable, and that we will end up suffering (even more than already) because of it.

I already feel guilty about my semi-annual flights to the States, thinking about all those worse-than-CO2 emissions that are released and my non-organic cotton clothes. Now I feel guilty that I use ridiculous amounts of energy in everything I do, because I live in the UK. I found out about the 2000 W society here.

I don’t think limiting my spending to £75 is enough. I don’t know if a buy nothing year is enough. I desperately want to find ways to convince every one else to do this with me.

What will it take? I’d be in favour of rationing, of a zero baby policy, of urban (shared?) garden schemes and CSAs and getting back to ALL our basic staples coming from our local community. I want to stop subsidizing ridiculous policies/industries and start investing in creating better infrastructure.

I don’t know when we’ll run out of oil, whether it’s in 5 years or 100. BUT, I do want to start changing things for the better.

ARRRRRRGH!

(Note: I’ve stopped thinking that people will read this apart from Robin, so I’m probably going to use this mostly to rant.)

2 thoughts on “ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGHHHHH

  1. Robin says:

    I think that my ideal life would be living on a big farm in Georgia or South Carolina (I want it to be warm, and suitable for farming.) I would live in as small of a house as possible, maybe not one of those 100 square foot ones, but pretty small, so I won’t get tons and tons of crap. I would grow my own fruits and vegetables, and work as a counselor maybe 2-3 days a week. I would want plenty of time to read, knit blankets and clothes for poor people, and do other things that I WANT to do with my time. I don’t want to be forced into working a crappy job that doesn’t mean anything to me. I’d rather spend my time doing things I love. As long as I have money for the things I really need, I think I’ll be happy. I would also love to barter for things. That’d be super cool.

  2. Pawtucket Pat says:

    Just for the record, I read it too.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Less and Less and More is all about enjoying more, all whilst worrying about less. Whether enjoying better health because you eat less junk, having more time for friends and family because you spend less time on acquiring, or lots of other big and little things that we want more of, I look at examples of people doing more.

Archives

Less and Less and More

Finding more in our gardens, our plates, our communities

