in which our heroine narrowly avoids defeat and questions her rules.

2

January 6, 2009 by missmegany

I’ve told a couple people about my challenge. One has asked me about batteries, and the other wanted to know about buying pants.

Apparently no one thinks it’s odd that I’m going to try to go a year without buying food, DVDs, music, etc, but they are concerned that I’ll reach my breaking point when it comes to getting new underwear.

I almost had a problem yesterday when I thought I was going to need both lunch and dinner away from home. I ended up going to ASDA, and bought a baguette, a block of cheese, a thing of caramelised onion hummus, and a bag of oranges. I figured every single one of those would be consumed as groceries after I had eaten my lunch, so they still counted as just general “food” rather than “goods”.

I just realised that I need to cancel my eMusic subscription AND I’m not sure about the status of lovefilm. Is it an experience to rent DVDs? I don’t keep them when I’m finished. I would get them out from the library, but even they charge £1 or £2 per film. I would probably count going to the movies as an “experience”, but that involves going out of the house. Any thoughts?

2 thoughts on “in which our heroine narrowly avoids defeat and questions her rules.

  1. Robin says:

    I would most definitely think that you would have more than enough underwear (pants) to survive a year. What do these people do? Throw away their pants once a month? I bet I have over 20 pairs in my drawer upstairs. Do I wear all of them? No. Should I throw a lot of them away? Yes. Anywho… I think I’ve heard that the “green” option for batteries is buying the rechargeable kind. You could make that a one time expense. But, I think that would fall under a necessity. If you’re completely out of batteries, but need it for your alarm clock, or kitchen scale, it’s a must purchase. You wouldn’t be buying them just for fun, you need them to run your household. I think that’s an OK purchase. (Said like a courtroom judge, “I’ll allow it.”)I’m not sure how your Lovefilm subscription works, but what about just downloading stuff from a torrent, or using Hulu?Again with this, is your quest to be less of a consumer (to honestly spend less money)? Or to accumulate less crap? If the latter, I think “virtual crap” isn’t really crap. I would first look into free options first, though.Yay for Megan updating her blog!

  2. James says:

    Surely batteries are non-durable? though Robin has a point, they are the devil in landfill so rechargeables are the way forward.I am not commenting on your pants. I will get in trouble. Because they are MASSIVE! Opps. Now I’m in trouble.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Less and Less and More is all about enjoying more, all whilst worrying about less. Whether enjoying better health because you eat less junk, having more time for friends and family because you spend less time on acquiring, or lots of other big and little things that we want more of, I look at examples of people doing more.

Archives

Less and Less and More

Finding more in our gardens, our plates, our communities

