In which our heroine explores her food options and convinces her boss to try the £2/day experiment.

1

January 15, 2009 by missmegany

Turns out there IS an organic milk option in glass bottles from the local dairy. I wonder if they’d let me only get 1 bottle a week…. I don’t think I’d drink any more than that…. Unless I start turning it into organic yogurt! Then I could get it more often…. And it would be cheaper (yogurt it way more expensive than milk) I found a recipe a while ago that looked easy, but I can’t find it. This looks about the same. NO, I am not planning to have babies. But it said “yogurt” and “easy” so I thought that would be a good site.

We did make homemade tortillas, which were SUPER cheap to make (mostly flour, with water, some Crisco, salt, baking powder,) and the
tempeh fajitas were AMAZING. I heart soy sauce and lime juice mixed together. (This reminds me a little bit of my favourite way to make Portobello mushrooms—in a marinade of wine, olive oil, soy sauce, and balsamic vinegar….delicious) Tempeh is awfully expensive, so it wouldn’t make the cut in a £2/day diet—it was £3.50 or something ridiculous for enough for two of us. That might still be cheaper than free range organic meat, though.

I’ve been thinking about food a lot recently, partly because of this Transition Southampton group (I am desperate for a Southampton farmers’ market that rivals Winchester’s in size), and because I’ve been reading
Animal, Vegetable Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver (check out the recipes and seasonal meal plans!!!). I LOVE it. I’m at the last chapter, but there are so many parts that I want to go back and reread. Her husband inserts fact boxes about conventional food production, which routinely made me want to cry.

I managed to interest my boss both in the Buy Nothing New challenge (he said he would try a month) and the £2/day diet (based on the $1 a day diet I posted about earlier). He wants to try the £2/day diet in February. The problem is, he eats CRAP. With a £2 limit per day, he’s going to eat even MORE crap. He was considering the challenge saying, “well, a tin of chicken curry is only 27p, so I’ll be fine” and “Well, you can get a whole chicken for £2.50, and that will last a couple days, and then I can make soup”. I told him that he shouldn’t be BUYING chickens that only cost £2.50, and he said he knows all about the conditions but it doesn’t affect his purchasing decisions. Helloooooo cognitive dissonance! I might try to plan meals with him and try to get him to eat better that month, in addition to staying within £2. The alternative is that we both take pictures of every meal to accompany our challenge—maybe THAT will convince him that I’m eating better.

I’m doing pretty well on my BNN challenge….but I think part of that is from default. I walked into town once to go to the bank. I had the urge to go into Starbucks and buy a chai latte, but didn’t. I saw cute clothes, but not much else. Maybe I should be forced to walk through a busy shopping centre once a week to make sure I can still keep my challenge. If I don’t have the opportunity to buy stuff, then where’s the challenge?

Oh. I just remembered I bought colour printer cartridges the other day. I’m chalking that up to “essentials”, because I can’t print in black & white unless my printer recognises that there are colour cartridges in there…. Stupid printer. (It also has un-recyclable cartridges. Bleh) I really need to be able to print for all the volunteer stuff. . . . so it doesn’t count.

I’m making minestrone soup tonight for a soup night, and I’m happy to say that I don’t think I’ll need to go to the supermarket at all for it. Most of the ingredients are from either the food coop or our vegetable box. Mac’s going to check some local shops near his work for cans of tomatoes and some small shell pasta. Not bad, eh? I need to get in touch with that dairy soon—we’re almost out of milk, and the last yogurt we bought (from World Food) was NOT organic. . . .

One thought on “In which our heroine explores her food options and convinces her boss to try the £2/day experiment.

  1. Robin says:

    You’re doing this for a year – you WILL be challenged. I wouldn’t go out of your way to tempt yourself. I did great with my month cause I didn’t go shopping or to the mall. If I had to go somewhere (ie, target), I made a bee line for the food I needed so I wouldn’t be tempted. What happens if you need chapstick (lip balm)? Is that allowed? I know for me, it’s so dry here I have to put some on every night before bed. When I do buy more, I’ll be sure it’s locally made or organic, though. But would you count that as a necessity? Or is that too close to a beauty product?

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Less and Less and More is all about enjoying more, all whilst worrying about less. Whether enjoying better health because you eat less junk, having more time for friends and family because you spend less time on acquiring, or lots of other big and little things that we want more of, I look at examples of people doing more.

Archives

Less and Less and More

Finding more in our gardens, our plates, our communities

