Day 19 – mushroom and leek bake and NO cookies during the day

Leave a comment

February 20, 2009 by missmegany

Mac has just made leek and mushroom bake from this recipe here. I don’t know what he’s making them with…. I wish we’d started some pearl barley as soon as Mac got home because that would be DELICIOUS. Instead I think we’re having potatoes.

Here’s the recipe for those of you who don’t want to watch the whole video over and over again.

Mushroom and Leek Bake

Served 3ish – 25p per portion

Ingredients:
30g butter (Mac used oil instead 6p)
5 leeks, trimmed & sliced (RIVERFORD)
250g mushrooms sliced (RIVERFORD)
1 clove garlic, crushed (8p)
100mL veg stock (1 tsp stock – 2p)
150mL cream (we used milk) (19p)
1tsp thyme (3p?)
30g grated parmesan (Mac only used 10g – 17p)
salt & pepper

served with 400g potatoes (20p)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 180C
Chop leeks and mushrooms, and mince garlic. Heat butter (oil) over medium heat and then add sliced leeks Gently fry 2-3 min, stirring often so they don’t brown Add mushrooms, salt, pepper and thyme and minced garlic.
Cook another 4 min.
Add chicken stock and cream (milk–cook a bit longer if using milk)
Stir and bring to the boil for 1 min.
Bake in the oven for 20min.
Take out and sprinkle the top with parmesan.
Return to oven for 5 min or until most liquid has reduced.
Serve immediately


Breakfast:
Mac – oatmeal (happy, Robin??) with jam – 17p, Megan – oatmeal with 20g raisins – 13p
(I ran out of time for a cup of tea)

At work: Megan – 2 cups of tea – 8p, Mac – one cookie and one cup of tea – 8p

During work: Megan also had her cup of tea and hot chocolate because she’s bad.r Lunch: leftover stirfry – 43p

Dinner: 25p (it only really made three portions)

Riverford: 75p

Megan 1.64 + 2 cookies + pistachios – 2.00
Mac 1.68 + 42g of pistachios for 2.00



Ok, I have a confession to make. I accepted two hot beverages today–paid for by other people. I’m a cheat.



Dave bought me a hot chocolate at lunch. I think he felt bad for me. Rob, my boss, bought me a tea (and bought another guy a tea) when we went up to the canteen for a meeting in the morning.


Dave had actually offered to buy me lunch, but I told him that wouldn’t count. He also kept asking if I wanted cake or something. I think it was a bit mean meeting up with him when I wasn’t going to be eating (I ate my stirfry beforehand so I wouldn’t be so tempted). BUT I really like hanging out with Dave and I didn’t think my challenge should get in the way. I guess this means I go over? I don’t know. I’m not very good with enforcing my own interpretation of the rules.

Mac got cakes for free at work. Lucky. He had three mini muffins, two mini flapjacks and a mini caramel thing AND a satsuma. WHAT THE CRAPOLA?!? I guess I get loads of free cakes and cookies and stuff at meetings. But that’s not during the work day when I’m HUNGRY.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Less and Less and More is all about enjoying more, all whilst worrying about less. Whether enjoying better health because you eat less junk, having more time for friends and family because you spend less time on acquiring, or lots of other big and little things that we want more of, I look at examples of people doing more.

Archives

Less and Less and More

Finding more in our gardens, our plates, our communities

