Day 20 – no dessert…. but LOTS of root vegetable curry

Leave a comment

February 21, 2009 by missmegany

Breakfast: 2 pieces of toast – Megan had PB&J (10p + 14p) Mac had pate & butter (10p + 9p), Mac had one cup of tea 4p and I had two, 8p

Then I realised I was still hungry, so I had another piece of toast with peanut butter 10p

During the day: Both of us had roasted cashew nuts (with a bit of oil and some salt on it). I had about 1/3 of the bowl and Mac ate the rest, so that’s 18p for me and 35p for Mac.
I also had two cookies during the day…. I wish they hadn’t been so accessible! 10p

Lunch: Mac had the leftover mushroom and leeks 25p
I had orzo with a carrot boiled and then added to some stock for a not really-soup soup. That was 8p
Riverford: 75p
Dinner: 41p (27p + 14p)

Totals: Megan 1.98 (half a cookie to make it 2.00), Mac: 1.99

Root Vegetable Curry
4 Servings – total liars. We used way less vegetables than they requested, but this will definitely serve 6 – 27p
Served with 2c rice – 72p (5 portions 14p)

Ingredients:
(I added 1 c. dried chickpeas – 34p)
½ tsp Black mustard seeds (I used regular mustard seeds – less than 1p)
4 T Ghee (we don’t have enough cupboard space for this. Veg oil works fine – 6p)
2 Onions, finely chopped (1 only used one 10p)
8 Garlic cloves, minced (I used about 5… but most were tiny. Oh well.) (37p)
2 tablespoons Finely chopped ginger root (about 4p)
3 Green chiles, chopped (I put in a pinch of red chili flakes)
3 Parsnips, peeled and cut into 1/2×2-inch sticks, 1/4-inch thick (I used 2 – RIVERFORD)
3 Carrots, peeled and cut into 1/2×2-inch sticks, 1/4-inch thick (I used 1 – RIVERFORD)
3 Turnips, peeled and cut into 1/2×2-inch sticks, 1/4-inch thick (DIdn’t have any)
½ Rutabaga, peeled and cut into 1/2×2-inch sticks, 1/4-inch thick (I used 1/3 of one – RIVERFORD)
(I also added 460g of potato – 18p (new cheap potatoes)
1 T Coriander (3p)
1 T Garam masala (we just bought 400g for 1.79!!!! HOLY CRAP! I LOVE bulk spices in world food stores – 3p)
½ T Ground cumin (3p)
½ T Turmeric (1p)
½ T Cardamom (oops. I forgot)
½ tsp chili powder (a couple shakes – 1p)
½ tsp Fenugreek (1p – 2p)
1 c Chicken stock (1 tsp VEGETABLES stock 2p)
1 c Canned crushed tomatoes (I used half a can of organic ‘freaking expensive’ tomatoes)
Salt (oops. I forgot)
Cilantro leaves, for garnish (yeah, right)

Directions

  • I know you’re supposed to soak beans and chickpeas overnight, but we didn’t. Cooked for about 2 hours or so in over 4 cups of water and they were fine!!
  • Parboil vegetables for 10+ minutes until just-barely tender (If you want this ready quick-ish, parboil. Otherwise, cooking all in one pan for 1 1/2 hours will help meld flavours)
  • Heat ghee in a large skillet with cover or Dutch oven until very hot (or just a regular big pan).
  • Saute mustard seeds for about 5 seconds, until aromatic. (Maybe the pan wasn’t hot enough, but this wasn’t ready in 5 sec)
  • Add onions, garlic, ginger root and chilies and saute for 5 minutes.
  • Add root vegetables and saute 5 minutes.
  • Remove pan from heat, stir in spices, (chickpeas if adding), vegetable stock and tomatoes and lightly season with salt.
  • Bring to a boil, then simmer, covered for 1 1/2 hours. (OR simmer about half an hour if you parboiled the vegetables first)
  • Serve over white or brown rice, garnished with fresh cilantro leaves.


From Taste Show # 4713 Recipe by: David Rosengarten Posted to MC-Recipe Digest V1 #532 by “Master Harper Gaellon” on Mar 21, 1997

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Less and Less and More is all about enjoying more, all whilst worrying about less. Whether enjoying better health because you eat less junk, having more time for friends and family because you spend less time on acquiring, or lots of other big and little things that we want more of, I look at examples of people doing more.

Archives

Less and Less and More

Finding more in our gardens, our plates, our communities

