Finally! Something that ISN’T food related!

Leave a comment

February 21, 2009 by missmegany

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090205/ap_on_re_us/ice_storm_amish
It’s all about how Amish neighbours helped out their non-Amish Ketuckians when an ice storm hit and everyone lost power. I wish we’d had some Amish in Fitchburg!

I LOVED this article. How awesome are the Amish? How great is resilience and grit (that the newspapers said all of England is lacking)? I love the fact that while things seriously sucked, there were some people to remind us that actually, it’s completely manageable and people did it for a fair few hundred years, thank you very much.

It does make me want to take a couple courses so that I know how to do things for myself. If something went wrong in the flat, I wouldn’t have a CLUE what to do without calling aprofessional–that’s for repairs, plumbing, doctor visits, everything. I realised that my “skills” are all about talking and office skills. Put me in a jungle or forest or just away from electricity and I would probably die in a week. There is something for knowing that you don’t rely on lots of gadgets or other people to get by. Or at least having that knowledge as a just-in-case. Maybe I will take a woodworking class or something. At least get used to using my hands. I guess the allotment will help loads with that!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Less and Less and More is all about enjoying more, all whilst worrying about less. Whether enjoying better health because you eat less junk, having more time for friends and family because you spend less time on acquiring, or lots of other big and little things that we want more of, I look at examples of people doing more.

Archives

Less and Less and More

Finding more in our gardens, our plates, our communities

