Day 24

2

February 25, 2009 by missmegany

I had some people over for a Transition Southampton meeting on Wednesday, so Mac made a quick and easy dinner that we could have before or after. They left around 7:30, and dinner was just about finished.

Mac made a super easy pasta dish with olive oil, garlic, chili flakes and roasted broccoli. It’s almost not worth writing instructions because it was so easy. But I will anyway.

Roasted Broccoli with chili and garlic pasta – serves 4
– Cut the broccoli into florets. Save the main stalk for a day when it would be better used. (in a stock, or in a hot pot or something else)

– Put broccoli into a large roasting pan so they aren’t piled on top of each other.
– Cover with a few T of veg oil. Cook in oven at about 180C for 20-25 min. The broccoli will brown a bit, but shouldn’t burn. I would stir once halfway through.
– Thinly slice garlic
– Heat 1 T olive oil on low heat. Add a shake of chili flakes and garlic.
– Cook slowly so that garlic becomes golden but doesn’t brown.
– Cook pasta according to directions
– Drain pasta and add to pan with oil. Stir to coat. Serve with broccoli on top.

(O) One large bunch of broccoli
(O) Pasta – 84p (this is both organic and fair trade from the local Fair Trade shop)
olive oil – 10p
(O) 2 cloves garlic – 15p
4T veg oil – 8p
chili flakes – 2p

Breakfast:
Megan: (19p) Half a slice of bread
(O) and a glass of water before I went running, then a bowl of Oatmeal (O) (I ran out of raisins) 8p + 7p, cup of tea 4p
Mac: Toast
(O) w/ marmite & butter (O) : 15p + 4p (19p)
At work: Mac: 2 cups tea
(O) (6p), Megan: 1 cups of tea (O) (4p)
Lunch: (44p) lentil and swede mixed in with the last of the curry

I had half a cookie when I got home (3p) and a cup of green tea
(O) (4p)
Riverford: 75p
Dinner: 50p pasta with broccoli
(O) , garlic (O) and chili flakes (29p) plus 1 1/4 slice of bread with butter (22p)

So I put all this information into http://www.nutritiondata.com and it told me that for what we ate this day, it is just about complete proteins for the day (99–anything over 100 should be a complete protein) and we’ve had 117% of the daily recommended amount of protein. (probably a bit less for Mac, because he’s a guy)

Not bad. However, it’s apparently not very nutritionally balanced–it got a “completeness score” of 53. . . . we need more vitamins and minerals, apparently.

It did say that day only gave us 1538 calories. Oops. That’s quite a big chunk less than I think it should be… I was always told 2,000 for women.

The money total for today is: Megan: 2.00, Mac: 1.95

2 thoughts on “Day 24

  1. Robin says:

    This dinner sounds very boring. Was it? If I had made it, it would be.I am so proud of you that you went running!!! If I live with you for a but this summer, I’m going to go every day, and you’ll be welcome to join me!!! Do you think you would have a bicycle I could use? That would be SO FUN!What is marmite? And you should get more raisins! They are so delicious. I eat them in my spinach salad, and they make it deliciously sweet.

  2. Robin says:

    Oh, and with your calories being so low (actually, 1500 isn’t too bad), are you losing any weight? It seems like you’re eating a lot less than you normally do, because I know that both of us love to snack.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Less and Less and More is all about enjoying more, all whilst worrying about less. Whether enjoying better health because you eat less junk, having more time for friends and family because you spend less time on acquiring, or lots of other big and little things that we want more of, I look at examples of people doing more.

Archives

Less and Less and More

Finding more in our gardens, our plates, our communities

