Day 11 – Moroccan stew

1

June 11, 2009 by missmegany

I don’t know what’s going on with the font size on my blog, but it’s a little irritating. Sorry!

Two days before the Food for the Future event. I didn’t work today because I wanted to make sure I was able to get ready for this. Instead, I ended up going to Kate’s house and prepped up another things of bunting. I also cleaned the WHOLE flat and it’s never looked tidier. I wish I’d taken pictures. That was so that it would be nice and neat for when the Daily Echo photographer and journalist came over (they brought a work experience student with them). In the end they took pictures of me holding up the things I’d bought since January (used, of course). I’ll try to post the article once I’ve scanned it (although I look terrible). The journalist asked about the Buy Nothing New year long challenge, the £2 a day diet, a bit about the Food for the Future Day, and questions about why I’m doing all of these different things. I was just amazed that she knew how to write in shorthand. (It looked amazing!)

Best parts about the day shown in pictures I stole from Google Images?
Shorthand, finally eating a banana and finding a good recipe for kohl rabi (stole that picture from Frumpyfoodie.com–great photos but MAN does she talk a lot. I would probably just look for her recipes like those here.

Not much interesting food-related stuff happened on Thursday, so I’ll just post the lovely recipe for Moroccan kohlrabi stew and the daily breakdown.


Kohlrabi Stew
Recipe 84p for 4 – 21p per person – Note: we adapted a lot of
the ingredients. Actual price for the list on the link will be a bit higher.
Origin: North Africa

Ingredients
(L) 2 Tbsp oil (we used veg oil–5p)
(O) 1 medium Kohlrabi RIVERFORD
1 large onion, chopped [We skipped]
(O) 3-4 large carrots, RIVERFORD
(O) 1 tin tomatoes (we didn’t have any, so I used a bit more water and 3Tbsp of tomato paste – 25p)
(O) 400ml can of chick-peas, with liquid (or 1/2 cup dried chickpeas cooked for 2 hours – 17p)
100g Bulgur wheat (16p)
(O) 100g raisins (I think I only had about 60g – 16p)
1tsp ground coriander (2p)
1/2 tsp ground turmeric (less than 1p)
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon ((less than 1p)

1/2 tsp ground ginger (2p)
1/4 tsp ground cumin (less than 1p)
700ml water

Don’t look to the original website for instructions. I mean, you can, but you won’t find many. Their advice was to stick it all in a pan and then simmer for 30 min. I’d look for one line instructions if I was making a cup of tea or a peanut butter sandwich–not for a whole stew.

Directions
Peel and chop the Kohlrabi and onion. Don’t peel the carrots, but chop into large chunks.
Heat oil and add onion (if using) and the carrots. Cook for a little while. Add kohlrabi and all spices, stir to coat with spices and cook a further 5 min.
Add tomatoes and water, and bring to a boil. Simmer for 15 min or so until carrots are tender, but not soft. Add raisins and bulgur wheat, and stir well. Cover and allow to cook until bulgur wheat is fully cooked (it will probably absorb most of the moisture).

Tanzanian Braised Cabbage
Yield: 8 portions (we made enough for 3–23p total, excluding RIVERFORD costs. 7p each)

In a saucepan saute 1/2 cup bermuda onions (purple), chopped finely [we skipped this bit, because we were out of onions] 1 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes (2p), 1/2 tsp. curry powder (less than 1p), 1/2 tsp garlic powder (I used 2 cloves fresh garlic finely chopped instead 15p(L)), 1/4 tsp. powdered ginger (less than 1p), in 2 oz. oil (I used about 10g butter instead – 5p(L)).

Once the spices are cooked (and, if using onions, the onions are soft), add 2 Ibs. cabbage cut in 1-inch wedges. (we probably had about 300g cabbage–enough for 2 people and a little left over from RIVERFORD
(O) ). Saute lightly until cabbage begins to lose its crispness.

Add 1 cup vegetable stock (O) (3p) and seasonings to taste.
Simmer for 5 minutes.

Total breakdown:
Breakfast:
(O) Porridge with (O) raisins, 13p and Megan had a (O/FT) banana (36p)
Riverford: 85p
Lunch: lentil stew, 26p and a nice fresh salad
(O) (all from Riverford!)
Dinner: morrocan stew with bulgar wheat, chickpeas and kohl rabi and a side of spring greens 21p for the stew, 7p for the cabbage.

Total for the day: Mac: £1.52, Megan: £1.88

One thought on “Day 11 – Moroccan stew

  1. Robin says:

    How old was the reporter who knew shorthand? That IS pretty amazing.Are you saving a TON of money with this challenge?

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Less and Less and More is all about enjoying more, all whilst worrying about less. Whether enjoying better health because you eat less junk, having more time for friends and family because you spend less time on acquiring, or lots of other big and little things that we want more of, I look at examples of people doing more.

Archives

Less and Less and More

Finding more in our gardens, our plates, our communities

